Six Indian Americans to be honoured


New York: The Indian American Kerala Cultural and Civic Centre honoured six Indian American Malayalees for their outstanding achievements in their field of specialisation or for their service to the society.

The awardees include noted robotic surgeon/urologist, Mani Menon, Rajendra and Padma Vattikutti Distinguished Chair in Oncology and Director of the Vattikutti Urology Institute at Henry Ford Health System in Detroit. He will also be the keynote speaker.

Other awardees are: Dr. K. M. Abraham, Research Professor at Northeastern University Centre for Renewable Energy Technology in Boston and the President and Chief Technology officer of E-KEM Science, Boston (Applied Sciences); Dr.Santhosh Mathew, professor, researcher and science writer (Journalism – Science Writing); RajuMylapra, Chief Editor of Aswamedham online publication, New York (Journalism – Humor Writing); Dr.Murali Nair, Professor & Director of School of Social Work at Cleveland State University in Ohio (Social Sciences); and Gracy Varghese, Nursing Home Administrator, East Haven Nursing and Rehabilitation Centre, Bronx, New York.

The chief guest for the evening will be RamuDamodaran, Deputy Director of Outreach Division, Department of Public Information at the UN.